2013 Year in Review: November Part 2 – An Unexpected Gift

Each story has two sides, in response to my post Survivor@37 has written her thoughts on our chance meeting.

Survivor@37

Only two days had passed since I almost killed my diabetic daughter with a near-fatal dose of insulin. The amount I gave her caused her blood sugar to drop so fast that she went into convulsions and ultimately sent her to the hospital.

As if my own guilt and realizing what I had done weren’t enough, I also had the weight of a really tough year on my shoulders. I’d been diagnosed with breast cancer, and six weeks later I had undergone a bilateral mastectomy. My husband had been recovering for a hip replacement surgery, and my precious daughter had only been dealing with her diabetes for ten months. Something had to give. I was only holding my sanity together with a stiff upper lip and some Silly Putty.

Calgon, Take me Away

So, on the morning of November 25th I realized that work wasn’t the place for me. What…

View original post 1,171 more words

Leave a Reply

