The “30 Day Photo Challenge”

Last night I took on a challenge. A photographer friend of mine named Jamshed challenged me to take a photo a day, for an entire month, using his Nikon FM2 film camera.

 Image

The “30 Day Photo Challenge” 

Jamshed pitched the project to me as a “month-in-the-life-of” style photo shoot. A photo album following my life through my post heart attack, physical and mental rehabilitation. Each photo would be a little insight into a day during this life of changes. The challenge of the project being to capture the essence of an entire day, in a single shot, with no re-try.

For each of the the photos I will write a short description of my feelings at the moment of taking it. The entries will be less that 140 characters long and will be then attached to the final prints once they are developed. A blind evaluation of a captured visual representation.

Shadow Days: 

During this time, Jamshed will also be shadowing two complete days of my life. These pictures will represent the “day in the life of” to go with the month long photo compilation. Jamshed will do everything I do, for all of my daily activities, from dusk till dawn, taking photos of me in my little world.

The First Time Photographer

One of the most interesting parts of this project is that I actually don’t know anything about photography. This camera is completely foreign to me, and was made before I was even conceived. When I finally took my first photo I almost peed, the weight of the camera seems to add to the significance of every shot. After taking the picture I looked to the back of the camera to evaluate my work, to find the smooth leather backing looking back at me. I was immediately aware of my desire to see the photo I had just taken and evaluate it’s worthiness. To compare it with dozens of others and test it’s compatibility with colourful filters… But this isn’t Instagram.

Without the easy fix filters and focus layering of Instagram to tell my story, and one chance to get it right, every click counts.

The Next 30 Days 

Over the next 30 days I will be challenging my noobie photography skills to capture fragments of my life for the sake of personal exploration and art. This journey will require a lot of patience. Patience to take the time to capture the right moment, patience to not immediately judge my work, and patience with Jamshed as he follows me around all day. 😉

The camera will live with me for an entire month, fulfilling my dreams of becoming the true hipster, sporting a classic film camera around my neck as I shop around in the grocery store. I humbly accept this challenge and the opportunity to learn and express myself in new ways.

Image

To follow the story online, check out my daily updates on my Instagram feed! @levihildebrand #30DayPhotoChallenge

Leave a Reply

